The 5 W’s

Why did you want to become a librarian?

What do you do everyday?

When do you find time to read for fun?

Where do you work?

Who is your favorite author?

These are the questions I found myself answering a lot when I was home for Christmas this year, in not-so-sunny old Ireland. I used to have difficulty in answering these questions the first year I had moved to Aberdeen, but now they flow easily and I am confident in debating the need for libraries across the country, in the UK and in Ireland.

Let’s break these questions down!

Why did you want to become a Librarian?

This is easy. I love helping people and books. I am also known as the “technical support” for my Mum whenever she buys new devices, so I am savvy in that way too.

My favorite present to give someone? BOOKS!

I grew up in my local libraries, I loved the thrill that I could take home books (more than one) for free, and read them whenever I wanted and it opened my mind about various topics.

If I heard about something, I was able to go to the library and ask questions about it and research it, even though at the time I did not know it was “research”.

My favorite film growing up was Matilda!

What do you do everyday?

This is not an easy one. It varies from day to day. There is a lot of cataloging and checking in of stock. Metadata – linking all of the videos available for staff for their students to the correct topic and sub-folder. Shelving items and making sure the area is easy to understand. Then we add the students coming in with IT issues that I can help with, UCAS applications they need assistance with, scanning and printing the all important end of year projects, VLE assistance….. You need help? You come to us. Which I love being able to say.

I am an Information Assistant, but sometimes the students accidentally call me “The Librarian” and it does make my heart jump! 🙂

When do you find time to read for fun?

Everywhere! I read on the bus to work, I read on my lunch break, I read while my boyfriend is playing Xbox, I read before I go to sleep at night. Reading has become extremely portable as well, I try to bring small books out of the house but sometimes they will not fit so I use my iPhone or iPad and (gasp) the Kindle app. When I am at home, I love the feel, look and smell of a book but when I am on the move the Kindle app is very convenient.

If you want to read more, you can do it!

Where do you work?

I work in a Further Education college, what a vocational college is now.

My job is great, I help students and staffs with their queries and am given more and more responsibilities as my time here goes on. I have an ID badge with my face on it! The team I work with is great, and there is minimal office politics.

Who is your favorite author?

It changes from week to week. At the moment I am going through a Stephen King phase, my poor boyfriend accidentally makes me jump just by coming into a room when I am reading a scary part. I also love Jodi Picoult, John Green, Rainbow Rowell, Emma Mills, Cormac McCarthy…. so at the moment it is Stephen King.

