Reviewing a YouTubers Ebook! – “First & Then” by Elmify aka Emma Mills

As I have previously mentioned in my older blog post, I watched a lot of YouTube.

Since my last post regarding this topic, my partner and I have actually bought a fancy (ex-display) TV with all the trimmings, and most importantly, YouTube and Netflix buttons.

I have read a lot of books thanks to BookTube community online, my first book by a YouTuber was “Papertowns” by John Green, if you have not heard of him you need to fix this straight away:  http://www.youtube.co.uk/user/vlogbrothers

He is half a duo to the Vlog Brothers, Hank Green being the other half, and they are really great a making learning fun (I never thought I would write that) and also entertaining. Lots for charity and lots for ending ignorance on various subjects, basically awesome. DFTBA. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y0VnI1dI7zw

After watching John and Hank for a few years, I stumbled upon Elmify’s channel, through the “Suggested Videos” box which is, sadly, no more on this 8.2.3.4 version of YouTube. http://www.youtube.com/user/elmify

She made me laugh, nearly all the way through her videos, due to her alter ego/inner monologue self who “told it like it is”.

I followed her journey through school, college, amazing singing videos with her Dad at Christmas, and now she is in Grad School (or as best to my knowledge, I don’t stalk her or anything). I felt like I grew up with her, as we are close in age! She felt what I felt, she was just better at expressing it.

She mentioned a few months back that she was coming out with a novel, which made me super excited as I have not been disappointed by any YouTuber books, or recommendations of books either. I preordered “First and Then” and waited for my 4-year-old basic Kindle to get my order when it was released.

Do you want to know what makes the YouTube community extra awesome? It’s accessible, to anyone who is lucky enough to have an internet connection. Elmify was uploading more often, due to excitement of the up and coming release, and I sent her a quick Tweet to show my support and also my excitement for the book too! And she REPLIED. This made me super excited and I showed my other half with a few “Ep!” noises thrown in.

Unbeknownst to Elmify (okay, her name is Emma, but I will always refer to her as Elmify), I had been let go from my job and was super sad when I sent the tweet (I was let go due to the price of oil and the economy) because I was really looking forward to reading something besides job postings.

I got the email to say it had arrived, so I screenshot it on my Kindle App from my iPhone and sent her another Tweet to say I was excited to get started, and she REPLIED again! This just made me giddy at this stage. So you can say I was bias when I started reading her book.

“First and Then” is an amazing book to read. I know nothing, seriously nothing, about American Football but it was explained in the terms of Jane Austen which I was able to break down and understand. There is grief, teenage angst (I love this in books) loss, love, frustrations, pressures that teenagers go through and much much more.

I rarely am able to see elements of myself in a lead character of a book, I actually can not think of a time I did, except this one. She is a head strong, stubborn, sometimes a hermit, sometimes a social butterfly, girl who doesn’t know what she wants just yet and needs to be pushed by the people who love and care to reach her goals. Me, basically, when I was a teenager.

The love story is NORMAL, I mean this in the best way, it isn’t *fall into each other arms* or *I am a vampire let me kill you and blah blah zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz* It is simple, first and not-so-innocent love that when I was a teenager I went through.

I would recommend this book to any teen girl or boy, or any person of any age, or adults with teenagers who need to understand why their child is struggling for any reason.

Go buy it! http://www.amazon.co.uk/First-Then-Emma-Mills/dp/162779235X

5/5 Stars! 🙂

Now…. to Tweet this at her! 😉

Jade x

