The need for less usage of the Internet (for things we used to be able to do)

The irony of this title does not escape me. I am writing on the internet about how we should all use the internet less!

Statistics show that 36 hours 49 minutes is spent by each adult per month online, which is an increase from the previous figures by over 6 hours a month (Ofcom, March 2014).

My partner is always saying to me, “You use your iPhone too much! I am right here in front of you, talk to me!”

When I walk up in the morning, I use the alarm from my iPhone (and hit snooze far too many times) to summon me from my epic dreams and bring on the harsh reality I need to get up now. I am not a morning person. The second thing I do is check my texts and emails, followed by my newsfeed on Facebook. I have ran 4 apps, 3 which use the internet before I have even dragged myself out of bed and had a shower.

I live in a different country to my parents, so I do like to know everything is okay once in a while by using social networking sites, emails and messaging apps. My
childhood friends are also in regular contact with me through the same apps. I
have a lack of friends over here, in comparison to Ireland, and I really do
think it is because I do not connect with people as much when I have the
magically machine in my hand. The thing that annoys me the most is that I can
actually have a book I want to read on my lap, open ready to devour, and my
phone beeps. I check it, reply, like, share or what I see fit and then… It has been at least 30 minutes and I haven’t even got through a chapter.

I have made friends with people by discussing topics in cafés and have met up a few times in person and it has been great. Since I have had a Facebook, we have the initial talk in the café then “Add me!” chat which had lead to a lack of a follow up
conversation IRL (in real life) and the human connection that I know if I do have not, I get very down.

A few weeks ago, the internet at the library I work at was down due to back weather (it was awful)!

Patrons were frustrated and the library has been pulled back into “15 years ago!” as one user put it. Has it been that long since it was open access to all to the magic machine that if you know how to work it can answer all your questions? Note how I wrote, if you know how to work it correctly, as it really is difficult for new comers to the technology of today to grasp how to use some operating systems and gadgets.

Where I work, and I presume in most modern libraries, when the network crashes, none of the user access computers work. No one can log on to even create a work document. Staff are also in this difficult situation all their appointments and to do lists are in the calendar in their email account that they are locked out of. This is problem for modern day offices, there is not way around it as a lot of the work we do is collaborative and on cloud systems. I have to admit I do like the library this way, it is like my childhood before they put in that one PC in the corner you had to book a week in advance. Patrons were reading book and looking through the stacks.

It was not a slow day in the library whatsoever! Regular users were browsing the stacks and picking up items to read! The micro-film machines were all in use and the questions were all based on the stock we had there and then and the patience for the search were increased. It was really a breathe of fresh air as a MLIS student (aiming to get my dissertation in by January 2015, thus the lack of consistency of posts) to see that everything we had been taught was really geared towards the new digital library and the usage of the internet as a tool for learning, and not just cat videos and sending silly messages about cat videos to one another.

There is a way around the usage of internet in social aspect. I like calling people, I always have. I am chatty, no one will debate on that one. I have turned my conversations with people into threads online and emojis I think fit the topic. I have reduced our friendships to text on screens and alert tones from iPhones.

I have a call plan for 5,000 minutes a month. I rarely use 100.

I need to change that.

Leave a Reply

